When translated from Gaelic, Loch an Eilein means Loch of the Island. On the island you will find a dramatic, ruined castle which dates back to the 13th century.
Delightfully referred to as Mama's Cottage, Loch an Eilein Cottage is situated on the west side of Loch an Eilein and has a magnificent view of the castle. It was built in 1813 by General Grant as a folly for his old mother. On her death it had remained untenanted until it was gifted to his daughters a few years later. General Grant extensively repaired and improved the cottage for his daughters. He built a back kitchen and made a pretty flower garden while their mother gave them furniture with which to equip the cottage.
By 1820, one of the woodmen's wives lived in it and kept it tidy. The daughters loved to entertain in the cottage: in 'Memoirs of a Highland Lady', Elizabeth Grant wrote;
We had a pantry and a store room, well furnished both of them, and many a party we gave there, sometimes a boating and fishing party with a luncheon, sometimes a tea with cakes of our own making, and a merry walk home by moonlight.
It's exciting to see the new contemporary interiors of the cottage today while remembering its fascinating past.